Conspiracy Theory!

10 Dec
200,000 views!

Mia celebrating 200,000 views!

So I was surprised and stoked to see over 200 messages on my phone from YouTube today. Apparently The Stanley Steemer Variations (by Mia) has grown more legs thanks to a post at Reddit and I am thrilled more people are getting a chance to see it. Thanks to everyone who has supported me with your comments, your energy, your love… I am grateful and humbled. As for the haters, and skeptics, who somehow seem to have me all figured out, and claim that I’m not who I say I am, please read my manifesto:

1. I am not affiliated in any way with the company Stanley Steemer, and they have not contacted me.

2. I am a struggling artist in NYC. I do not work for an ad agency, nor am I waging a “viral marketing campaign.” If I hoped to get some attention from this video, then guilty as charged.

3. I sang all the vocals on this, and am proud to say no Autotune whatsoever was used; that’s not how I roll.

4. Some are crying foul that the video is lip-synched. Not to spoil the illusion, but, yes, the video is lip-synched! All music videos are lip-synched! This started as a voiceover demo that morphed into a crazy video project, shot in a friend’s bedroom with a Sony Handycam. I did the hair, makeup, and costumes, and my friend Roger shot and edited it. Crew of two. Cast of one. I want everyone to see how much fun we had making this; maybe we’ll have to release the “Making Of” documentary sometime soon! 🙂

5. A few dudes snickered at me for saying my video was “viral” at 150,000 views. That’s what everyone was telling me; are they wrong? What constitutes “viral”: a million? My previous video had like 25 views, so I was ecstatic.

Whew, there’s that. If you like, please follow my blog, subscribe to my YouTube channel. More to come; we’re always in a playful mood around here!

Peace,
Mia

8 Responses to “Conspiracy Theory!”

  1. Loraine December 11, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    Conspiracy or not, I thought you did a fantastic job. You’re very versatile in terms of looks and a talented singer to boot. My boyfriend and I stared wide-eyed as you changed scene to scene, wondering what next you had up your sleeve. You spruced up a tired old jingle and made it entertaining again. Good luck with your future endeavors!

    • miagentile December 11, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      Loraine, you are the sweetest! I’m thrilled that you and your boyfriend watched this together and that you got a kick out of it. Thanks for the love! 😉

  2. adeena December 11, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    who did you interpret at 0.08?

    • miagentile December 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      Well, that one was just me doing jazz, one of my absolute favorite genres to sing. I was just scatting and improvising over the track that Roger recorded. So, no specific person in mind, just a very cool-cat jazz version of me, I guess!

  3. trehndanti December 12, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Seriously cannot stop watching your video. This thing just hits a nerve. SO awesome!
    That jazz thing at 0.08 is just beautiful, and i laughed so hard at the other stuff. true talent! GIVE US MOAR!

    All the best
    – we here in Norway

  4. Ty Hutchinson December 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Reblogged this on Ty Hutchinson and commented:
    If you haven’t seen this video by the talented Mia, then sit back and enjoy as she performs a variety of wonderfully entertaining renditions of a tired jingle we all have come to know and loathe. Thanks for making my morning, Mia.

  5. BDaverin December 13, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Please, please, please try out for The Voice if you can. You’d do great on that show!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fans que van más allá de lo que espera una marca | creativosinc.com - December 17, 2012

    […] Existe una empresa llamada Stanley Steemer en Ohio, E.U.A. ¿Les suena familiar? A mí tampoco, pues no vivo ni en ese estado ni en ese país. Sin embargo, recién acabo de ver un video donde una mujer joven, una artista radicada en Nueva York, le hace un raro tributo de 3 minutos a la empresa dedicada a limpiar alfombras principalmente, y al parecer, lo hace por amor al arte, pues ha negado que no busca crear un video viral para ayudar a la marca ni tiene relación alguna con la empresa. […]

Leave a Reply

